Life Update But Not Really

So I haven’t been able to blog as often as I had previously envisioned.

Basically, life has gotten in the way.  A couple of weeks ago I accepted the call to serve as leader of the youth ministry group at my church, and this means that I get to write a curriculum in a few weeks that will cover an undetermined amount of time.  It’s a challenge, but I’m enjoying it.

I am also figuring out the next steps in my career.  I have always wanted to be a history professor, and until the senior year of my college education, I was well on my way to achieving this goal.  But then something happened (I might talk about it later), and it totally knocked me off my groove.  I lost my confidence and started pursuing other career paths, but none of them felt right to me.  I have done some soul searching and have realized that life is too short to not be doing what I really want to do.


And so I’m in the process of applying for grad school so I can get Masters in History.  I’ve got my specialization figured out and just need to take care of all the elements of the application process (GRE, recommendation letters, statement of purpose, etc).  It’s also challenging, but I’m happy to finally be on my way again.

I am also in the process of pursuing some work leads. I’m in a transition, but I still need money to afford life. I’m registered with a local temp agency, and there is a permanent position that I’m applying for, so I’ve been revising my resume (yet again) for this position.  I’m hopeful for this job because it’d be great to work a steady job again.  Plus, it’d be nice to have a stable source of income as I transition back into my original career path.

With all of this going on in my life, I’ve also been feeling slightly guilty about not blogging often enough. I tend to be very hard on myself.  I had high expectations for this blog.  I pictured myself writing beautiful and articulate and lengthy posts on a very regular basis and it would just be grand.  Yeah, I can be a bit of a perfectionist.

I’ve since realized that that’s not what my blog is going to look like now, and it probably never will be like that.  And I haven’t quite accepted that reality, but I’m working on it.  I’ve realized that I need to stop getting hung up on my expectations to the point that it prevents me from blogging and that I just need to write.

So, here goes (again) . . .

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

